Be Creative With Light

The Society is an association of scientists in the area of optical spectroscopy applied to problems in biology and materials science. It has been set up to facilitate the exchange of scientific and technical know-how between labs. It organizes the annual FCS workshops (National Workshop on Fluorescence and Raman Spectroscopy) and other meetings. This website is designed to bring many new utilities to help the members excel in their research.

Mihir Chowdhury Student Fellowship
The prize will be 100,000/-, to be paid against receipts of relevant expenses.


06-11 Jan, 2022

PRIZE AMOUNT RS. 100,000/-
To be paid against receipts of relevant expenses.

One fellowship to a student or post doc per year, to cover the cost for presenting one’s work in an international conference.

The prize will be 100,000, to be paid against receipts of relevant expenses.

The fellowship will be accompanied by a certificate, an invitation to give a talk at the next meeting, and adequate mention in the society’s webpage.

The actual money will be disbursed to the fellow’s bank account, against actual receipts. Travel, registration, visa fees, travel insurance, accommodation, food, connected travel to other labs nearby, and any other legitimate expenses will qualify.

The student should be a member of the society

Selection Procedure: Selection will be done in FCS XIII meeting, based on the presentation (poster or talk). Any Indian citizen working in an Indian institute should be eligible.

Latest Happenings in the society

National Workshop on Fluorescence and Raman Spectroscopy (FCS XIII)

This year, the FCS Workshop (FCS XIII) will be held in person, after nearly three years. The dates are Jan. 6-11, 2023. The first part, like every year, will consist of theory sessions and hands-on sessions, and will be for a limited group of participants only, chosen from the applications (Jan. 6-8, 2023). These "Hands-on" sessions will provide a unique opportunity to learn some of the most sophisticated techniques directly from the world’s experts. The poster presentations, and research lectures will follow (Jan. 9-11, 2023). This session will be open to all registered participants. FCSXIII will be jointly organized by IISER Thiruvananthapuram and RGCB Thiruvananthapuram, with support from TIFR Mumbai and Fluorescence Society.

Event Website

Special satellite meeting celebrating 50 years of Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (FCS@50)

Our FCS conference series takes its name from Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy, because that was what we started with in 2009. FCS has contributed immensely to our understanding of kinetics in physical and biological systems. With the correlation signal arising from the fluctuations caused at the level of individual molecules, it is the true precursor to the single-molecule techniques of today. It completes 50 years in September this year (invention: Thermodynamic Fluctuations in a Reacting System—Measurement by Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy, Douglas Magde, Elliot Elson, and W. W. Webb, Phys. Rev. Lett. 29, 705 – Published 11 September 1972). We are celebrating this special year with an invited-only satellite meeting, right after FCSXIII (Jan. 11-14, 2023).

Event Website

Join us

Learn a new technique, Build new instruments, Teach others how to do it


Meet our People

Check out the list of our society office bearers



Instrument Builders Corner Q & A for experts Collaborators Corner

Award Winners
FCS Winners

Several Student Poster Awards are given at each FCS Workshop. The top award is the "Mihir Chowdhury Fellowship", which gives Rs. 100,000 in terms of a travel grant. This award is given in memory of Prof. Mihir Chowdhury, a pioneering spectroscopist of India.

Mihir Chowdhury Fellowship

Meenakshi P
Joint MCSF Winner (2021)

Apran Dey
Joint MCSF Winner (2021)

Debolina Bandyopadhyay
MCSF Winner (2020)

Parijat Biswas
Joint MCSF Winner (2019)

Ankur Gupta
Joint MCSF Winner (2019)

FCS 2021 Poster Winners

Subhankar Kundu
OWLS Best Poster Award

Ebin Sebastian
MAF Best Poster Award

Athira T. John
FS Best Poster Award

Swadhin Garain
FS Best Poster Award

FCS 2020 Poster Winners

Debanjana Das
FS Best Poster Award

Ajith V. J
FS Best Poster Award

Amitava Chandra
FS Best Poster Award

FCS 2019 Poster Winners

Deepika Sardana
OWLS Best Poster Award

Ajith V. J
FS Best Poster Award

Arup Kundu
FS Best Poster Award

Preeti Gupta
FS Best Poster Award